Trump Winery

I might be a little biased, but I love Trump Winery.  The tasting room is gorgeous and spacious. There obviously built it to cater to any sized group.  In warm weather, you can have your tasting inside or out on the patio. From the patio, you can see the vine. Though it isn’t close to you, the view is worthy of a post card. 

 Trump has both sparkling and still wine.The tasting glass you get to take home is the size and shape of a normal wine glass which means it’s actually usable and you’re not taking home an odd shaped glass for your collection. This is a blessing that anyone who visits a lot wineries or attends wine festivals will understand.  I can’t even tell you the number of useless tiny awkward shaped glasses I’ve acquired. My roommate said she was going to disown me if I bought home anymore glassware. (However, this was 3 wine glasses and 6 pint glasses ago.)

Artisanal Cheese Plate to go alone with our tasting.

Artisanal Cheese Plate to go along with our tasting.

Trump Winery has a full menu including artisan pizzas, crab cakes, and more. The last time I went, I had a pizza. The menu changes but I have never been less than extremely well fed. I had the cheese plate when I went with my mom and again when I went with some friends.

CRU Royale is my go to drink when I visit Trump Winery and at special occasions. I kept a bottle of CRU in my hotel room at my brother’s wedding so I could mix it with the Blanc de Blanc they served.  The Viognier grape is branded as Virginia’s signature grape or at least white varietal of Virginia.  Trump’s dry Viognier introduced to what is now my favorite kind of wine.  The whole wine list is full of versatile vino, you’re not going to buy a bottle and be boxed into the one meal it pairs with. Every time I visit Trump, my mom expects me to bring her 3 bottles of Simply Red.  (The Simply Red has recently been removed from the tasting list and replaced with a Meritage.)

As opposed to all wine related junk some of the wineries try to peddle to you, Trump has a small array of logo’d practical souvenirs. It’s such a relief to be in establishment that is about the quality of the wine. The whole experience is the epitome of my expectations of visiting a vineyard.

2 thoughts on “Trump Winery

  1. Pingback: Early Mountain Vineyards | VA Wine Princess

  2. Pingback: Veritas Vineyard | VA Wine Princess

Leave a Reply

